Karen Harrison

Get in Touch!




Thursday, Jan. 24th 2019

Reiki Symbols – What They Are and How They Are Used

Reiki symbols are sacred symbols referred to by their intention. Each symbolic name represents its purpose in the practice of Reiki. Originating from the Japanese language, the term Reiki means “spiritually guided life force energy.” The term is derived from combining the words “rei”, which means spiritual or higher, power, and “ki”, meaning life force energy.

Usui Reiki was developed long ago in Japan by Mikao Usui, a Japanese spiritual teacher, using Reiki symbols as a form of healing. Reiki symbols are the keys to connect to higher levels of healing by a Reiki practitioner. 

In a Reiki II class, a student receives three symbols: the Power symbol, the Mental/Emotional symbol, and the Distant symbol. They are activated by a Reiki practitioner during a ceremony/meditation called an Attunement or Placement. Once we receive the empowerment for the Second Degree Reiki symbols, we are more connected to the source of Divine Guidance, intelligence and power. 

Usui/Holy Fire Reiki uses the Power, Mental/Emotional, Distant, Usui Master, and Holy Fire symbols. All but the Holy Fire symbol may be referred to by the Japanese name, or kotodama, which means “the secret power of words.” The Japanese names of Reiki symbols are secret to indicate respect for the symbol.

Power symbol
Activating the Power symbol increases the energy that comes from the Universe. The Reiki practitioner uses it beyond the power of Reiki I energy. It may be used to focus one’s attention for physical healing, cleansing and more. The Power symbol strengthens one’s aura and can be used to clear and enhance energy in one’s home or office. Many also use it to protect their car while driving. Practitioners use this symbol to strengthen their power before sessions by drawing it over their chakras and on their hands. It is also used at the end of sessions to seal the healing energy.

Mental/Emotional symbol
Used for mental and emotional healing and for healing or improving relationships. Practitioners use it during treatments for any kind of emotional issue like sadness, fear, worry, grief, anger, or frustration. It can be used to heal negative thoughts and replace them with new, more productive thoughts and beliefs. When combined with the Distant symbol it is helpful in healing past traumas and hurtful situations. Mental/Emotional symbol may also be used for healing addictions, getting to sleep or back to sleep, remembering one’s dreams, finding lost items, and learning new material.

Empaths can use the Mental/Emotional symbol like a transmuting shield to catch emotional energy coming their way from others to diffuse it. Empaths or highly sensitive people especially benefit from learning the symbols to strengthen and protect their energy from others. 

Distant symbol
Crosses time and space. The practitioner can send Reiki across space to anyone at any time. It is used to send energy or Ki from a distance. This symbol is an essential tool used to connect one with their inner child or resolve past issues, including past-life issues. Practitioners can also send distance healing forward in time to help manifest good results. Distant symbol works best when intended “for the highest good of all concerned.”

Usui Master symbol
One of the most powerful symbols, the Master symbol can only be used by a Reiki Master. It’s translation has several meanings: great bright light, great shining light, Great being of the universe, shine down on me day and night, and Treasure house of the great beaming light. It empowers the Power symbol, the Mental/Emotional symbol and the Distant symbol and strengthens them in a grounded way. It enhances the connection between one’s physical and higher self so that one may more easily access one’s spiritual gifts. The Master symbol assists with developing and strengthening self-awareness, personal growth, spiritual development, and intuition.

Holy Fire symbol
Represents the spiritual flame of Holy Spirit energy. The actual image is a living flame with brilliant colors that are constantly changing and has a very bright center. The Holy Fire symbol can burn up negative energy, release malefic spirits or entities, and promote healing of the body, mind, and emotions.  Holy Fire can empower by giving vitality, confidence, safety, peace, and a feeling of being loved. The four qualities of the Holy Fire energy are purification, healing, empowerment, and guidance.

 You can review previous articles by clicking on the links below:

To take a Reiki class with Karen Harrison, check out her website and Facebook and you can also learn more about Reiki.  

Karen Harrison - Whole Life Center © All Rights Reserved. Privacy Policy

Site Created by KC Web Specialists, LLC